The story starts a while ago when my son was born, and the realization that reaper.ca/reapazor.com just isn’t very family oriented. I went looking to purchase davey.ca, but found it already taken. At first I thought maybe the American Davey Tree Company had purchased it, but quickly learned that they could not as they are not Canadian. After looking at the web page, I realized it was one of those annoying companies that pick up expired domains (or just buys domains) and just throws stupid search pages up on them; or that was my initial thought. I saw the expiry date on the domain, and figured that I would watch that for a while and see if I could pick it up that way. Unfortunately, I saw it get renewed so, I went out on a limb and decided to contact that owner of the domain. A simple WHOIS came back with some pretty basic information.
| Name |
Christina Schilling |
| Job Title |
|
| Postal address |
17618 Coral Beach Road Lake Country BC V4V 1C1 Canada |
| Phone |
250-766-2902 |
| Fax |
|
| Email |
coralbeach1@okanogan.com |
I emailed ‘Christina’ a few times and explained that I would be willing to pay to purchase the domain for my family, however after repeated attempts of no response from email I decided it was time to make an actual contact. I called the phone number listed, only to have it ring indefinitely with no answer. This is where things started to get rather questionable as at the time (site is dead now) okanogan.com showed that it was a bed and breakfast business out in BC.
Something to note here is the DNS entries for okanogan.com:
| NS1.DIRECTSEEK.COM |
66.199.187.170 |
| NS2.DIRECTSEEK.COM |
66.199.187.171 |
I was put off and decided to contact CIRA at that time about the issue, which I got a friendly response saying there wasn’t anything they could do. For the most part I can understand this stance at this time, as it could have been easily taken as an attempt to high-jack the domain.
A few months past, and I decided to try down this path again, and made all the initial contact attempts to no avail. However, this time I took a few extra steps.
First and foremost, how many domains ‘Christina’ owns was quite surprising (these are just the ones I found – that she still apparently owns):
| ak.ca |
| apex.ca |
| blackbook.ca |
| blondes.ca |
| clerk.ca |
| dmv.ca |
| err.ca |
| encino.ca |
| fair.ca |
| harry.ca |
| jasmine.ca |
| jus.ca |
| mdf.ca |
| place.ca |
| south.ca |
| transfer.ca |
(knowing now who Christina is, I know this list is not complete)
Now, each and every one of them has that stupid ‘search’ site and is trying to sell the domain … I cannot stress this enough, it is quite clear that this person is a ‘holding front’ for the seller (to ‘comply’ with CIRA policy). A good example of this is the fact that the registered address of ‘Christina’ is actually for sale (search for her address on Google). I’m pretty sure that Christina isn’t a real person, simply a name used and an address picked because it was for sale. A search for her name with google shows that there is no tie with her name in Canada, but ironically (check out where “Proforma” is located) there is one in Ohio.
I decided to follow up with the company which seemed to be squatting the domain, knowing that they would be asking for money. At the bottom of davey.ca there is the footer:
A quick WHOIS gave me the following:
Domain, Administrator admin@nameadmininc.com
Box 10518 A.P.O.
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands B.W.I. KY
+1.345.946.6879
And coincidentily the DNS seems to match okanogan.com:
| NS2.NAMEADMINISTRATION.COM |
66.199.187.171 |
| NS1.NAMEADMINISTRATION.COM |
66.199.187.170 |
| NS3.NAMEADMINISTRATION.COM |
216.187.90.150 |
It was a pretty dead give away that this was going to be painful as soon as I followed the link. Their website smelt of the filth of squatters and people that just want to rip others off, alas I kept my feelings to myself and navigated to their contact section which clearly indicated to only contact them if you intended on purchasing a domain. However, even at that stage another curve ball was thrown, well really not so much thrown as exposed; a brokerage company. I recieved a timely email to my inquiry, as follows:
HelloProForma (Inc.) provides brokerage services to the owner of davey.ca. This name’s registrant has been investing in domain names since the early days of the Internet and was the first to acquire generic names like davey.ca, which visitors use to navigate the web. Names such as this are easier to brand and provide a simple, memorable email address for your potential customers.
If available, davey.ca will not be inexpensive, but the benefits of owning this valuable descriptive name will flow to you for years to come.
Visit http://www.proformainc.com/welcome.php?cc=30283628846b9166a0b4f6b4ad045980 and follow the quick and easy steps. You could be just hours away from completing your purchase and permanently securing this valuable name for your exclusive use.
Now, I was getting rather frustrated at this point, because from what I could tell we’ve got a fake Canadian address used to qualify for the domain, then held by a company in the cayman islands; which is synonymous with ‘evasion’. Yet, I forged ahead and decided to look into this “ProForma” company, as usual a simple WHOIS shows them camping it out in the great US of A:
PFG Ventures sethomas@proforma.com
8800 E PLEASANT VALLEY RD
INDEPENDENCE, OH 44131-5558
US
216 520 3631 x1007 fax: 216 520 6886
They seem to be simply a brokerage company to hide the true identity of their clients; either way, I played their game and put in a bid for the domain. I decided to play it fair and offered $200.00 (ironically they don’t let you put a currency in your bid, nor do they state what currency its in). Needless to say my bid did not even get filled, I got a notice instead:
The seller will not accept bids at that level and your offer will not be delivered. The minimal bid is $18,000. We suggest you try TDNAM.com, BuyDomains.com, or Sedo.com for naming options in your price range.
So now I was pretty much stumped so I started searching more into this ‘Christina’ person, thinking she had to be the clue to solving my problem. Enough ‘Google Cache’ links later, I found out a very important piece of information about Canadian domain names:
“Canada is connected to many world-famous domainers including Kevin Ham, Frank Schilling, Yun Ye, Gary Chernoff, Raffaele Della Peruta, Richard Lau, and Shaun Pilford.”
It’s his family!! sister? !!!! Frank Schilling! … now we have something to move on, or more so something to start thinking about. A quick google of Frank Schilling turns up that “Name Administration Inc.” (from above) is his company!!! It seems that the circle is now closed on finding out whats going on here.
Thus, that brings us to the current. What do I do now? I’m faced with what everyone calls a ‘nice guy’ in the domain world, who from what I can tell is just squatting on the domain to make money. I think my only avenue is to talk to CIRA, which will probably turn me down. It’s rather disappointing to see the internet controlled in this way.